Cartoon Movie Tributes 2021

Due to the sanitary crisis, the Cartoon Movie 2021 was held digitally. The Cartoon Movie Tributes 2021 have been cancelled.


During the 22nd Cartoon Movie, participants voted the winners of the Cartoon Tributes, the awards for outstanding contribution to the development of European Animation over the last year. The ceremony took place in Bordeaux on Thursday 5 March and the winners received a trophy, symbol of the professional recognition from their peers. The aim of the Cartoon Movie Tributes is to reward outstanding achievements, companies or personalities that have had a positive and dynamic influence on the animation feature film industry. All professionals attending the Cartoon Movie voted for their favorite nominee in three categories: Director, Distributor and Producer of the Year.


Cartoon Movie 2020’s winners were:


  • Zabou Breitman & Éléa Gobbé-Mévellec for “The Swallows of Kabul” (France).


  • Lumière (Belgium)


  • Xilam Animation (France) / Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Cinéma (France) for “I Lost my Body” by Jérémy Clapin.

(Éléa Gobbé-Mévellec, Annemie Degryse - Lumière, Gregory Faes - Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Cinéma, Lucie Bolze - Rosalie Films, Arnauld Boulard - Gao Shan Pictures ) 

Download the picture.


Previous winners


  • Director of the year: Salvador Simó for "Buñuel in the Labyrinth of the Turtles" (Spain).
  • Distributor of the year: Sola Media (Germany)
  • Producer of the year: Submarine (Netherlands) for (co)-producing 6 animated films today: "Coppelia", "Fox & Hare save the Forest", "Where is Anne Frank?", "Buñuel in the Labyrinth of the Turtles", "My Grandfather used to say he saw Demons" and "In the Forest"


  • Directors of the year: Dorota Kobiela (Poland) & Hugh Welchman (UK) for "Loving Vincent"
  • Distributor of the year: Latido Films (Spain)
  • Producer of the year: Platige Films, Kanaki Films, Walking the Dog, Wüste Film, Animationsfabrik, Puppetworks (Poland / Spain / Belgium / Germany / Hungary) for "Another Day of Life"


  • Director of the year:  Claude Barras for “My Life as a Courgette” (Switzerland)
  • Distributor of the year: Angel Films (Denmark)
  • Producers of the year: Rita Productions (Switzerland), Blue Spirit Productions & Gebeka Films (France) for “My Life as a Courgette”


  • Director of the year: Rémi Chayé for “Long Way North” (France)
  • Distributor of the year: SF Film (Denmark) 
  • Producers of the year: Ulysses Filmproduktion, Fabrique d’images, Grid Animation & Moetion Films (Germany / Luxembourg / Belgium / Ireland) for "Ooops! Noah is gone..."


  • Directors of the year: Mark Burton and Richard Starzak for "Shaun the Sheep" (United Kingdom)
  • Distributor of the year: INDIE SALES (France)
  • Producer of the year:  TeamTO (France) for "Yellowbird"
  • Rhône-Alpes Personality of the year: Patrick Eveno and Mickaël Marin, in charge of The Annecy International Animation Film Festival and its Market (Mifa)


  • Producer of the year: Walking The Dog (Belgium)
  • Distributor of the year: Le Pacte (France)
  • Directors of the year: Thomas Szabo & Hélène Giraud for “Minuscule” (France)
  • Rhône-Alpes Personality of the year: Folimage’s founder Jacques-Rémy Girerd, director of films such as “Raining Cats and Dogs”, “Mia and the Migoo” and more recently “Aunt Hilda!”


  • Producer of the year: Les Armateurs (France)
  • Distributor of the year: TF1 International (France)
  • Director of the year: Peter Lord for "The Pirates! Band of Misfits" (United Kingdom)


  • Producer of the year: Perro Verde Films (Spain)
  • Distributor of the year: Cinéart (Belgium)
  • Director of the year: Rémi Bezançon & Jean-Christophe Lie for «Zarafa» (France)


  • Producer of the year: France 3 Cinéma (France)
  • Distributor of the year: STUDIOCANAL (France)
  • Director of the year: Pierre Coffin for «Despicable Me» (France / USA)


  • Producer of the year: nWave Pictures (Belgium)
  • Distributor of the year: Wild Bunch Distribution (France)
  • Director of the year: Stéphane Aubier & Vincent Patar for "Panique au Village" (Belgium) 


  • Producer of the year: Cartoon Saloon (Ireland), Les Armateurs (France) & 
  • Vivi Film (Belgium)
  • Distributor of the year: BAC Films (France)
  • Director of the year: Tomm Moore (Ireland) for "The Secret of Kells"


  • Producer of the year: Prima Linea Production (France)
  • Distributor of the year: Europa Distribution
  • Director of the year: Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud for "Persepolis"


  • Producer of the year: Alphanim (France)
  • Distributor of the year: Scanbox (Denmark)
  • Director of the year: Michael Hegner and Karsten Kiilerich (Denmark) for “The Ugly Duckling and Me!”


  • Producer of the year: Aardman (UK)
  • Distributor of the year: Gebeka Films (France)
  • Director of the year: Nick Park and Steve Box for «Wallace & Gromit: The curse of the Were-Rabbit» (UK / USA)


  • Producer of the year: Ralph Christiaens (Ireland)
  • Distributor of the year: France 3 Cinéma (France)
  • Director of the year: Piet De Rycker & Thilo Rothkirch for “Laura Star” (Germany)


  • A Film (Denmark)
  • Folimage (France)
  • Pathé Europe (France)


  • Didier Brunner (France)
  • Filmax (Spain)
  • Robert Rea (France)


  • Cinéart (Belgium)
  • Rothkirch Cartoon Film (Germany)
  • Trickompany (Germany)


  • A Film (Denmark)
  • Aardman (UK)
  • Cecchi Gori (Italy)
  • Michel Ocelot, Didier Brunner & Marc Bonny (Fance)
  • MFA (Germany)
  • Cartoon Movie Tributes